How will the Treaty principles be defined under the new Bill?

As a starting point, the Treaty Principles Bill suggests using the three articles in the Māori version of the Treaty originally signed in 1840:

Article 1: “kawanatanga katoa o o ratou whenua” – the New Zealand Government has the right to govern all New Zealanders.

Article 2: “ki nga tangata katoa o Nu Tirani te tino rangatiratanga o o ratou whenua o ratou kainga me o ratou taonga katoa” – the New Zealand Government will honour all New Zealanders in the chieftainship of their land and all their property.

Article 3: “a ratou nga tikanga katoa rite tahi” – all New Zealanders are equal under the law with the same rights and duties.